Stoic Week 2016

Stoic Week starts today (Oct 17th). I do my best to live by Stoic principles, and I find this yearly week long event to be a great “tune up” to asses how I’m doing and reinforce my practice. Modern Stoicism has  similarities to Buddhist mindfulness practices and is rooted in CBT. I’ve found it immensely helpful in living a happier, more productive life. This year, my 19 year old daughter is doing the program with me and I am very excited to see what she makes of it. Stoic philosophy isn’t for everyone and it might or might not be for her, but whichever way she feels about it, she will definitely have insights to share.

We chose as our meditation for the day: Indifference to indifferent things. It’s shorthand for not getting stressed out about things that don’t really matter and aren’t in our direct control anyhow.

INDIFFERENCE.png

Leave a Reply

