Headscarves

A photo of Lillian Gish from the St. Louis Globe, 1916

Lilian Gish, 1916
via wikimedia commons

My mother had standards.
She wanted me to wear headscarves
I slumped underneath the weight of their expectation
proper
prim
upright

She would tie the tight knot just so
Lovingly settling the fabric
My face burned while the other girls
pointed
whispered
laughed

Now I’m a mother, with standards.
Now I know what mother saw
I see headscarves through fresh old eyes.
Hepburn
Bacall
Gish

I put one one on. All I can see is my mother.

3 thoughts on “Headscarves

  1. Oh, Theresa, this is a stunning little memoir poem, the last line pitch perfect!! Well done. I look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

