I’m Barb, and I Support Cursive Handwriting Education

My kids learned cursive when they were elementary school age, and now as a teen and young adult, they’re quite proud of their handwriting skills. Not useless at all!

the TUDOR TUTOR

TTcursive

I shared the above photo I created on all my social media channels yesterday (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest), with the following caption:

“Learning cursive (joined-up writing or handwriting in the UK) is on the decline in the States, due to the implentation of the Common Core Standards in most states, as well as the erroneous belief that cursive writing is useless and antiquated in the modern world.

On the contrary: Research has shown that cursive writing improves brain development, hones fine motor skills, sharpens categorisation skills, and teaches the brain to integrate visual and tactile information.

Without cursive training, kids won’t be able to read historic documents (let alone communication from older relatives!), won’t be able to take notes efficiently, won’t even know the joy of enjoying a hand-written card. I teach my own kids cursive at home, and feel strongly that it…

View original post 491 more words

One thought on “I’m Barb, and I Support Cursive Handwriting Education

Leave a Reply

