Sleepy Hollow: Epi 1:3 Triumph of Evil

Sleepy-Hollow-Poster-FOX-2I’m still enjoying this quirky little show, though this week had a couple of problems. The Critter of the Week was a “Mohawk dream demon”. My knowledge of Northeastern 1st Nations culture is microscopic, and no amount of internet searching this morning would find me any reference to any “Mohawk dream demons”. I am certain that this episode would have been better had they grounded their “sandman” legend in its original Northern European origins instead of trying to graft it onto a 1st Nations mythos, assuming that there is one. The used car salesman/shaman wasn’t your usual wise old grandpa stereotype, but he was another common nonwhite stereotype. Angry Red Man this time.

I was impressed by Icabod’s angry amazement that the peoples of the confederation who populated most of the northeastern American seaboard had been driven nearly to extinction. I was also impressed that Icabod mentions that the laws of the Iroquois Confederacy helped shape the U.S. government. Icabod’s reaction to various race and cultural issues could make or break this show for me. He was initially perplexed by a black, female lieutenant, but had more problem adjusting to her trousers than her race and never treats her as anything other than a competent colleague.  When his interaction with the Mohawk car salesman did not go well for him (“Drop the friend of the tribe schtick!”), he deals with the situation gracefully.

One of the things that I liked about the  Sandman myth was the way Abbie defeated it. Like with the Greek Furies, the key to salvation here was to acknowledge her wrongdoing and repent of it. This is unlikely to solve any of her problems with her sister, which are bound to continue to be plot complications as the series goes on. I’m conflicted by the treatment of Jennie as the mental health patient even as I admire the complex sibling dynamics.  Eventually we’ll get a show that treats mental health issues with thoughtfulness and decency. It’s early days. The show might pleasantly surprise me in that regard.

For now, I’ll enjoy the quirky storyline, the solid acting, and the wonderful squicky horror bits (exploding sand eyeballs, anyone?) Also, this show has a silly sense of humor that is used subtly to great effect. I hope it keeps that element for its full run.

6 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow: Epi 1:3 Triumph of Evil

  1. Thanks for introducing me to this show. It’s not one I’ve had any interest in watching, however, you make it sound like I’d enjoy it. The quirky storyline, and silly sense of humor intrigue me. I’ll be looking for the next airing of this show. Who knows? It may become one of my favorites.

    • In the first episode, the horseman cut the head part off of a roadway crossing sign. In episode 3, someone used the sign to prank the police chief with it. It may not keep up with that sort of silly thing and the whole show might start taking itself way too seriously, but for now, I’m amused.

Leave a Reply

