July Movies

When I started my new job renting videos and games that I thought that would be playing a lot more games. Turns out I'm watching a lot more movies, because more and more, video games are not aimed at anyone like me. Seriously, there are a zillion lame movie release tie-in games which have historically been so awful that now my kids won't even try them when I beg, and a zillion war games, which I won't let the kids play and which the ritzar and I have little interest in. I'm also personally bored with blue-eyed ninja RPGs and "smash ups", so that limits the field even further. But I do have some movies to suggest, even if the games releases have been a bit dry of late.

Persepholis by Marjane Satrapi, co-directed by Vincent Paronnaud. Based on Satrapi's autobiographical graphic novel (and how cool is that, autobiographical graphic novel?!?), this is a stark look at the cultural fall of Iran from the perspective of an Iranian woman growing up in the 70's and 80's. I saw it billed as humorous, but the humor is dark and the tragedy is deep and personal as well as national. If you care at all about middle east politics, women's rights or revisionist history, definitely a film to see.

The Other Boleyn Girl, based on a novel by Phillipa Gregory. It's really important to understand that this is based on a novel that's based on historical happenings and not based on actual unvarnished history. Just as Eric Bana is way prettier than the actual Henry VIII (who nonetheless was regarded as quite good-looking in his time), this movie is a prettified Tudor story. The costuming is incredible. I picked this picture over the official poster because it shows a partlet (neck shirt/dickey thing) very much like a partlet I've made and worn. Don't let Scarlett Johansen's trademark lack of facial expression fool you; she's actually quite good in this. I found her insipid and boring in The Island and Nanny Diaries, to the point that I almost didn't watch this based on her appearance. Luckily Eric Bana and Natalie Portman sucked me in.

10,000 B.C. I'm frankly astonished when people start picking on all the "anachronisms" in this film. It's not really about 10,000 B.C.E. It's a story set in mythological time and told as a myth, with a jumble of things from different times and locales thrown in to entertain the sensibilities of a modern audience. If you can watch it as a wonderful melange from a sort of proto-European Dreamtime, it's really quite fun and beautiful. It's done in storytale style as well, so perhaps the best way to think of it is sort of like an "Enchanted" for boys, but without the singing. 😛

Oh. We do have one game suggestion: Nights: Journey of Dreams. Beautiful and gentle enough to appeal to the Daughter Unit, even, especially as you can play as Helen, a girl dreamer, and her game is not identical to William's, the boy dreamer. 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

